Sendin reshuffles pack for French battle

Posted on August 14, 2017  /  Issued by SA Rugby

SA Schools coach Lance Sendin reshuffled his pack for their second clash in the U19 International Series against France at Paarl Gymnasium on Tuesday, which will see a new front row and flank combination take to the field.

Sendin made six personnel changes and two positional switches to the SA Schools team – sponsored by Coca-Cola – that went down 30-28 against Wales in Stellenbosch, with props Jordan Clarke and Asenathi Ntlabakanye pairing up with hooker Fezokuhle Mbatha in a new front row.

The new-look loose trio features flankers Mark Snyman and Dylan Richardson, while captain Travis Gordon retains the No 8 jersey. In the backline, meanwhile, centre Yanga Hlalu replaces Rikus Pretorius, while Qamani Kota and Kennedy Mpeku switch places at fullback and winger respectively.

Meanwhile, lock Adrian Alberts has returned home due to concussion, but with sufficient cover among the forwards, Sendin opted to call up Pumas and Hoërskool Nelspruit flyhalf Stephan van der Bank as cover. The injury to Alberts means that the bench will feature 12 players, although only eight replacements may be used during the match.

“The changes we made are mainly give players a chance to start, so that everyone in the squad receives a fair chance to show us what they can do,” said Sendin.

“By maintaining player combinations in the backline, however, it offers us some continuity in selection as well.

“We have to perform much better on defence, and that is something we have worked on this week. Our attitude on defence is very important and with that comes first-time tackling, while we also have to make better use of our chances on attack.”

Sendin expected a tough battle against France, who went down 24-8 against England last Friday, and said: “France are a physical side so we are expecting a big onslaught from their forwards. They also like to spread the ball wide and they have a good kicking game, so they will test us.”

Entrance is free to Tuesday’s matches, but vehicles will be charged R20 to park inside the school ground.

SA Schools team to Face France at Paarl Gymnasium (Tuesday, 15 August):

15 – Qamani Kota, Tshepa Trading Griffons / Welkom Gimnasium
14 – Kennedy Mpeku, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / KES
13 – Diego Appollis, Blue Bulls / Garsfontein
12 – Yanga Hlalu, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / KES
11 – Muller du Plessis, DHL Western Province / Paarl Gymnasium
10 – Christopher Schreuder, Free State / Grey College
9 – Sanele Nohamba, Sharks / Durban High School
8 – Travis Gordon (captain), Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / KES
7 – Dylan Richardson, Sharks / Kearsney
6 – Mark Snyman, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/ Helpmekaar
5 – Cristen van Niekerk, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / Monument
4 – Juan van der Mescht, Sharks / Glenwood
3 – Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / St Stithians
2 – Fezokuhle Mbatha, Sharks / Maritzburg College
1 – Jordan Clarke, Sharks / Glenwood


16 – Ruhann Greyling, Free State / Grey College
17 – Banele Mthenjane, Pumas / Nelspruit
18 – Keagan Glade, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / KES
19 – Celimpilo Gumede, Sharks / Durban High School
20 – Jaden Hendrikse, Sharks / Glenwood
21 – Rikus Pretorius, Free State / Grey College
22 – Conan le Fleur, Sharks / Glenwood
23 – Nkosikhona Masuku, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/ Parktown Boys High
24 – Morne Brandon, Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions / Monument
25 – Phendulani Buthelezi, Sharks / Durban High School
26 – Henco Martins, DHL Western Province/ Paarl Gymnasium
27 – Vian Fourie, DHL Western Province / Paarl Boys High