Decisive weekend in Women’s Interprovincials

Posted on August 30, 2017  /  Issued by SA Rugby

Border, Western Province, Eastern Province, SWD and the Golden Lions will have everything to play for in the SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial Competition on Saturday as the finalists in the A and B Sections will be determined at the end of the round.

In a thrilling finale to the pool stages, Border will be hunting their fifth victory in as many matches in a game that could see them secure their fifth consecutive home final when they host Free State at the BCM Stadium in East London, while Western Province and Eastern Province will battle it out for a final berth in Cape Town.

The other A Section clash will see the Blue Bulls host KZN in Pretoria in a clash that will be played purely for pride.

In the B Section, meanwhile, SWD will meet Boland in Knysna and the Golden Lions take on the Limpopo Blue Bulls in Johannesburg, where draws or victories will guarantee them final berths. This final will be played as a curtain-raiser to the A Section final on Saturday, 16 September.

Also in the B Section, the Griffons take on Griquas in Welkom and the Leopards will meet the Pumas in Potchefstroom.

With the Free State winless after four matches this season, Border who are unbeaten and have won the last four titles in a row, will enter the clash as favourites.

The battle between Western Province and Eastern Province, meanwhile, is expected to be hard-fought given the high stakes in the clash. The hosts boast a better record on attack and defence than their Port Elizabeth counterparts, but Eastern Province have won two of the last three clashes between the sides, which will inspire them.

SWD and the Golden Lions, who come off back-to-back bonus point victories in their last two matches will also face opposition sides that have yet to win a match, which will boost their confidence going into their matches.

SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial fixtures (Saturday, 2 September):

A Section:

13h00 – Blue Bulls v KZN (Loftus Versfeld B, Pretoria)
14h00 – Western Province v Eastern Province (City Park Stadium, Cape Town)
15h00 – Border v Free State (BCM Stadium, East London)

B Section:

13h00 – Griffons v Griquas (HT Pelatona Projects Stadium, Welkom)
14h00 – SWD v Boland (Lourie Park, Knysna)
11h00 – Golden Lions v Limpopo Blue Bulls (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)
13h45 – Leopards v Pumas (Profert Olën Park, Potchefstroom)