Balanced SA Select Women’s training squad named

Posted on September 27, 2017  /  Issued by SA Rugby

Eight players with national experience in 15s and sevens were named in the 28-member SA Select Women’s training squad for a 12-day training camp starting in Stellenbosch on Friday, as the side prepares to travel to England in October for the first national tour since the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2014.

The camp, which will be hosted at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport, will run until Wednesday, 11 October, with a squad of 26 players departing for London that evening where they will play two matches against the England Academy team and one against the British Army.

SA Rugby’s acting High Performance manager Louis Koen will take charge of the camp until the SA Select head and assistant coaches are confirmed.

Capped Springbok Women’s Sevens players Zinhle Ndawonde and Rights Mkhari, who recently returned from Tunisia where they assisted in the team qualification for the Rugby World Cup Sevens, and SA Select Women’s Sevens player Unathi Mali were included in the group.

The squad also included a handful of Springbok Women’s 15-a-side players who participated in the 2014 World Cup in France, namely Asithandile Ntoyanto, Nosiphiwo Goda, Thantaswa Macingwana, Nolusindiso Booi and Celeste Adonis.

The remainder of the squad is made up of players who starred in the SA Rugby Women’s Interprovincial Competition and Youth Training Centre (YTC) players.

Another capped Bok Women’s Sevens player Eloise Webb (back) and 2014 World Cup fullback Tayla Kinsey (hip) were forced to withdraw from the squad due to injury.

Given their success in the Women’s Interprovincial Series this season, champions Western Province, and runners up, Border, accounted for the most players in the squad with 10 each.

SA Rugby also named a squad of 29 Under-18 players and 28 Under-20 players, who will participate in a training camp in Paarl from Sunday, 1 October, to Friday 6 October, with Western Province and Border also making up the biggest complement of players. The camp will be guided by the SA Rugby Women’s Youth Training Centre (YTC) coaches.

“We are excited to re-introduce 15-a-side rugby on a national level after turning our focus to development through the introduction of the Youth Training Centres in the last few years,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.

“It is clear in both of these squads that quality players are coming through the YTC structures, thanks to the skills programmes, improved fitness and conditioning, and regular training sessions.

“That said, we are realistic about our expectations in what will mark the first 15-a-side ladies tour in three years against quality opposition. I wish the players luck as they stake a claim for places in the squad.”

SA Select Women’s training squad (in alphabetical order):

Celeste Adonis (lock), Western Province
Nolusindiso Booi (lock), Border
Thuliswa Capa (prop), Border
Xolelwa Diliza (hooker), Border
Lusanda Dumke (flank), Border
Annique Geswind (hooker), Western Province
Nosiphiwo Goda (wing), Border
Aseza Hele (No 8), Eastern Province
Felicia Jacobs (scrumhalf), Western Province
Abigail Jantjies (hooker), Golden Lions
Charmaine Kayser (No 8), Western Province
Amy-Kay Klaasen (lock), Western Province
Babalwa Latsha (prop), Western Province
Thantaswa Macingwane (prop), Border
Kamohele Makoele (flank), Free State
Ncediswa Mahijani (prop), Western Province
Unathi Mali (wing), Border
Vuyolwethu Maqholo (flyhalf), Western Province
Sinazo Mcatshulwa (flank), Western Province
Rights Mkhari (lock), Limpopo Blue Bulls
Katlego Moremi (prop), Blue Bulls
Zinhle Ndawonde (centre), KZN
Aphiwe Ngwevu (centre), Border
Asithandile Ntoyanto (prop), Border
Moyagabo Ramoraswi (wing), Limpopo Blue Bulls
Snenhlanhla Shozi (fullback), Border
Buhlebethu Sonamzi (flank), Eastern Province
Thandi Xwetu (hooker), Western Province

SA Rugby High Performance U18 squad (in alphabetical order):

Sihle Bokoda (scrumhalf), SWD
Roseline Botes (hooker), Western Province
Saniliswe Charlie (prop), Eastern Province
Marizelle Cornelius (centre), Blue Bulls
Edwaline Dickson (No 8), SWD
Antoneca Hannies (fullback), SWD
Anelca Hess (flyhalf), Boland
Olwethu Kasibe (lock), Eastern Province
Andonesia Kietas (prop), SWD
Caryn Klaasen (wing), Western Province
Margareth Lamani (No 8), Boland
Nqatyiswa Lufutha (wing), Border
Nothando Majozi (scrumhalf), KZN
Caroline Maluleke (prop), Blue Bulls
Mihlali Mgweba (lock), Border
Annelisiwe Mxabo (flank), Western Province
Sakhe Mxhalisi (wing), Border
Zoe Naude (flyhalf), Western Province
Thembeka Ndlovu (prop), KZN
Sune Pawson (flyhalf), Blue Bulls
Caronne Petersen (flank), Western Province
Chuma Qawe (centre), Border
Chumisa Qawe (centre), Border
Shoneez Sabatini (lock), Western Province
Keshia Stuurman (flank), Boland
Eldorette Tieties (hooker), Boland
Janome van Slicht (scrumhalf), Boland
Maxine Valentine (flank), Boland
Connor-Leigh Witbooi (centre), Boland

SA Rugby High Performance U20 squad (in alphabetical order):

Abigail Beukes (prop), Western Province
Laverne Coenraad (wing), Eastern Province
Tyler-Jane Coleman (prop), KZN
Micaela Deeb (flank), Griquas
Nellodene De Wee (centre), Griquas
Maxine Engelbrecht (No 8), Griquas
Shaunique Hess (centre), Western Province
Alana-Lee Horne (fullback), Western Province
Sibabalwe Klaas (centre), Eastern Province
Zandile Patricia Khumalo (No 8), Golden Lions
Zandile Maduna (fullback), Blue Bulls
Gift Magagula (hooker), Pumas
Lerato Makua (flank), Blue Bulls
Ayanda Malinga (prop), Pumas
Anastacia Mashiane (flank), Limpopo Blue Bulls
Nompumelelo Mathe (lock), KZN
Monica Mazibukwana (hooker), Eastern Province
Bianca Meyer (centre), Blue Bulls
Buhle Mrkabalala (centre), Leopards
Lihle Mzimkhulu (flank), Western Province
Nolukholo Mzwali (prop), Eastern Province
Simamnkele Namba (fullback), Border
Owethu Nayiphi (hooker), Border
Siphumle Ngqose (No 8), Western Province
Yonela Ngxingolo (prop), Border
Siyanda Pikoli (lock), Eastern Province
Leandi Smith (wing), Western Province
Mpho Swarts (lock), Griffons